Our Committee


What is an RDA Committee?

Regional Development Australia Committees are locally managed, non-profit, community-based organisations jointly funded by the Australian and State Governments.

RDA Pilbara is a part of a national network of RDA committees serving rural, regional, remote and urban communities across Australia.

What is the purpose of RDA Pilbara?

Our committee is committed to developing and growing the Pilbara region by engaging in the following activities:

  • Consult and engage with the community on economic, social, cultural and environmental issues, solutions and priorities
  • Liaise with governments and local communities about government programmes, services, grants and initiatives for regional development
  • Support informed regional planning
  • Contribute to business growth plans and investment strategies, environmental solutions and social inclusion strategies in their region

Introducing our Committee

Selected for their leadership and dedication to the community the RDA Pilbara Committee consists of 7 strong voices from the Pilbara region.

  Chairperson: Fiona White-Hartig 

Fiona White-Hartig is a long-time resident in the City of Karratha.  Fiona has been the Chair of RDA Pilbara for the past four years and has also held many positions on various boards across the region.  These include: Mayor and Councillor of City of Karratha, President of the Wickham Community Association, Chair of the Karratha Emergency Relief Organisation, President of the Wickham Youth Group, President of the Karratha branch of the Make-A-Wish Foundation and a Roebourne Advisory Councillor, Board Member of the Pilbara Development Commission , Chair of Pilbara Regional Road Group and Board Member on the Karratha Visitors Centre.
Ms White-Hartig has trained and worked extensively with youth, in disability services and Indigenous engagement.  She holds a Bachelor of Arts in Politics, Philosophy and Sociology from Murdoch University (1992) and her previous experience includes appointments with ACT Youth Justice, Qamby Youth Detention Centre, Family and Children's Services, Karratha Youth Housing Project, Intellectual Disability Rights Service, Jobsolve, Karinjini Aboriginal Corporation and Karratha College.


Deputy Chairperson: Kerry White

Kerry has lived in the Pilbara region for 20 years and has succesfully owned and operated a business in Onslow for 16 years.  Kerry is the current President for the Shire of Ashburton and has been on the Council for over 11 years.  Kerry has sat on the Community Reference Group for BHP Billiton and Chevron for the eight years and continues her contribution to these reference groups in support of community interests and wellbeing.

Kerry has a vast understanding and knowledge of the Pilbara region and has served as a member of the Pilbara Regional Council, a role she has held for the past three years.  Kerry is a also a member of the Pilbara Roads Group and provides a strategic perspective which which is informed by her extensive knowledge of the region.  Kerry is also a Board Member of the Department of Planning and has undertaken extensive Governance training at a Local Government level.

Committee Members:

David Yakas

Teresa (Maggie) Lewis

Eric Brahim

Rod Evans


Tel 08 9144 0651 | Fax 9144 0652
Email officemanager@rdapilbara.org.au
Regional Development Australia - Pilbara
Suite 5/7 Morse Court Welcome Lotteries House
Karratha WA 6714

Copyright © 2014 RDA Pilbara
website credits